DWI Criminal Defense Attorney – Immediate Jail Release
Don’t Let A Texas Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) Arrest Ruin Your Life! Know Your Texas DWI Rights!
You have every right to be concerned if you have been investigated or arrested for any criminal offense, such as Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) or any Felony Charge. Being charged with a crime may be one of the scariest things you’ve ever experienced. A Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) conviction may result in the restriction or loss of a driver’s license, an increase in insurance costs, fines, court costs, a Driver’s License Surcharge of between $3,000.00 and $6,000.00, and even the possibility of jail time. As you can see, Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) is a serious offense.
The law says that the County Attorney needs only to prove that after drinking you were not able to drive your car in a “normal” capacity. That sounds pretty cut and dried, but it is not quite as simple as that.
You see, if challenged, the County Attorney must also show all of the following:
- That the arresting officer made the arrest properly
- That you were properly advised of your rights
- That the equipment the officer used to test you was working accurately
- Even that the person operating the equipment was certified to operate
Furthermore, before administering the “standard field sobriety tests,” the officer must have successfully completed the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration Standardized Field Sobriety Testing student class. I successfully completed the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration Standardized Field Sobriety Testing training. What does this imply to you? That is, in addition to grading you on how well you performed on the tests, I will also grade the officer to ensure that the tests were properly administered. If the tests were not carried out properly, this can be revealed to the County Attorney or the jury to demonstrate that the results were unreliable and should not be trusted.
DRIVER LICENSE SUSPENSION
Your arrest may have included a cancellation of your Texas driving privileges for a specific period of time. YOU HAVE ONLY 15 DAYS FROM THE DATE OF YOUR ARREST TO REQUEST A HEARING ON THIS MATTER. I believe that this hearing is extremely important, not only to challenge your suspension but also as an opportunity for your attorney to question the arresting officer to find out exactly what he is going to say in court. If you retain our office to represent you, part of that representation includes representing you at the driver license suspension. However, remember you must request this hearing no later than 15 days from your arrest so it is important that you contact me as soon as possible to schedule an appointment. If your Texas driving privileges are ultimately suspended, in most cases we can get you a Texas license that will allow you to drive to and from work.
WARNING BEWARE: TEXAS DRIVER LICENSE SURCHARGE
Beginning with any Texas DWI Conviction for an offense committed on or after 09/01/03, the Texas Department Of Public Safety is authorized to charge a surcharge on your Driver’s License. This charge will range from $1,000.00 to $2,000.00 a year for three years. Depending on whether you provided a breath sample, and the results, you could be facing a $6,000.00 fee to keep your license.
BREATH TEST CASES
I own an Intoxilyzer 5000. If you took a breath test at the jail, this is the same model of machine that you used. I have also completed training under the Department of Transportation regulations as an Intoxilyzer Operator and Maintenance Technician. I also have access to various Breath Test Experts that may be helpful in your case. Just because your results were over a certain limit, does not automatically prove you guilty.
The government with all of its resources can frequently make your life miserable; regardless of whether you have actually committed the crime. Real life criminal law is NOT like television. Cases are not resolved in one hour, and the solutions are normally not simple. Hiring a criminal defense trial lawyer can be the most important decision you make.
When you find yourself, a family member, or friend in this situation, you need an experienced and well-skilled attorney who practices only in the area of criminal defense law. For better or worse, criminal law has its own unique practice and methodology. Frequently you will find attorneys who practice criminal law, but also handle personal injury, divorce, and other matters. They may be good attorneys, but I believe that criminal law is too specialized to risk my clients to any distractions facing an attorney who handles multiple types of law and who is not in the trenches everyday.
Please contact a lawyer as soon as possible to schedule an appointment so that they can guide you through the unfamiliar territory of the criminal justice system. Because each case is unique, they provide a free initial consultation to discuss the charges against you and the options available to you. They offer flat rate fees and flexible payment plans to assist you financially in paying any attorney fees, allowing you to hire a criminal defense attorney so that they can begin protecting your rights immediately.